Learning from the scriptures…

Standard

Another semester has started and this year I am learning from the Old Testament. The Old Testament has given me mixed feelings whenever I read in it. I love many of the stories, but there is also a lot that I don’t understand. I think this semester will help me.

As I am reading the beginning stories, and have come to Enoch and the city of Zion, I have to say I am not only very amazed and impressed with him and the people in his city, I also wonder if that is something that could be accomplished again on this earth before the Savior returns. The world is so wicked and even the very good people struggle to be righteous at all times. It makes me wonder how special Enoch was to the Lord and how important it was to Him to bless Enoch and his people.

The Pearl of Great Price brings some great insights into the whole story and I love how we can find in Moses many of the things that had to happen for Enoch to be so blessed. Enoch had to be completely faithful and do the Lord’s will and Heavenly Father promised Him in return to protect and guide Him. I love the visions that Enoch saw and the conversation he had with the Lord. Heavenly Father truly showed him everything.

I can’t even imagine how hard that must have been for Enoch to see some of the things that would come to pass. To see so much evil and wickedness on the earth, while feeling so much love for his Savior. Sometimes I think I would like to know too what the future will be like and what happened in the past, but I am not sure I could handle that. Just knowing some of the things that were prophesied and seeing it coming to pass more and more is pretty scary. I know we don’t need to fear if we are on the Lord’s side and if we continue to be righteous, but seeing bad things actually happening, makes me worry about my family and loved ones. It is one thing to go through suffering myself, but a lot harder when you see someone struggle you love so much.

Enoch obviously cared deeply about those that were still to come. He cared about his ancestors, and his own children and others who were around him. I love Moses 7:50-51. It says: “And it came to pass that Enoch continued his cry unto the Lord, saying: I ask thee, O Lord, in the name of thine Only Begotten, even Jesus Christ, that thou wilt have mercy upon Noah and his seed, that the earth might never more be covered by the floods.” “And the Lord could not withhold; and he covenanted with Enoch, and sware unto him with an oath, that he would stay the floods; that he would call upon the children of Noah.”

Heavenly Father loves His children and the fact that He was angered enough to have the flood happen shows me how hurt and grieved He was that His children would listen to Satan and not to Him. It shows me that even though we were given free agency, and because Heavenly Father loves us so dearly, there will still be consequences for our decisions. We must use our agency wisely. Every action will lead to a consequence, whether it is good or bad.

But when we are truly faithful and do our part in trying to understand the Lord’s will, He will show us what we need to know. He will guide us and prepare us for the things we have to accomplish. He will have compassion on us and will do what He can do help us through trials, struggles, hard times and heartbreak. He knows how we feel. He is by our side and will be with us as long as we want Him there. He wants us to stand up against Satan, but of course it is up to us whether or not we want that too.

I am so grateful for the gospel in my life and for the many blessings I have. I am grateful to know that I am a daughter of God and that He loves me like nobody else. He is always there for me and even when I feel completely alone, sad and depressed, He is still there. I am grateful for the prophets of the past who teach us so much through their writings. I am also grateful for our present prophets and apostles because they lead us now so we can return and live with Heavenly Father again some time in the future. I think we truly are loved by many and we need to spread that love to those around us so they feel loved too. Nobody is forgotten.

Leave a comment